life. ministry. technology.

From the Gospel of Mark

The Gospel According to Mark, finding itself among the Synoptic Gospels is predictably similar to the Gospel of Matthew.  Reading the Gospel of Mark this week I found my attention captured by chapter 5.  Here Jesus and his lot have landed a boat only to find a demon-possessed man.  This man had been tormented for a long time.  The townspeople knew him well, and if verse 4 is any indication they were troubled by this individual.  He was someone who frightened them, someone they shielded their children from.  The people had tried chains and irons to control the man to no avail.

Enter Jesus.  As Jesus approaches, the demon recognizes him as God’s Son and cries out in protest.  An exchange occurs between Jesus and the demon (who proves to be many demons) and Jesus restores the man by driving them out.  A herd of pigs sadly becomes a casualty of this spiritual battle, but the citizens rush over to find the man lucid, fully clothed (it seems that had previously been an issue) and sitting calmly.
Were we not familiar with the story we might quickly assume that the people of the community praised Jesus, thanking him for this miracle.  This man had been a problem for some time and now he was made well.  The people can see that Jesus must be from God to accomplish such a thing as this!
We know this was not their response.  The people were afraid and begged, pleaded with Jesus to leave.  I wonder how many miracles of God I have overlooked or opportunities for revival I have avoided because of fear – fear of change, fear of uncertainty or even fear of the cost.  I can honestly say no work of God has ever cost me a herd of pigs, but what are my figurative swine?  What am I not willing to give up so that God can work?

One response

  1. Challenging questions! It is hard to know what we would be willing to give up until it is taken away. Your post has me thinking back on my life and wondering what opportunities have missed because of fear. May God give us the courage to be obedient regardless of the cost.

    December 9, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Leave a comment